Chef Hung Taiwanese Beef Noodle

 

Chef Hung Taiwanese Beef Noodle 洪師傅牛肉麵 (Aberdeen Centre) on Urbanspoon

 

I came here when it first opened. There was so much hype because of the famous Chef Hung. He is known for being the “King of Taiwanese Beef Noodle”. His noodles were well established in Taiwan and famous for its signature beef noodles. It was so popular, his noodles won beef noodle awards in Taipei from 2006 to 2010. I had high hopes for this place, I waited in the dreaded long line up just to try it and when I finally got in, I was starved and had high expectations for this award winning noodle. But boy was I let down. Even though I was starving, the noodles failed to satisfy me. I haven’t been back for since it opened. And finally returned over the weekend because my boyfriend was eager to try the award winning soup. 
Gailan with Oyster Sauce

 

The marinaded beef wrap.. was a big thumbs down. It was dry and unappetizing
Extra Pickled Cabbage




Braised Beef Shank & Tripe with Noodle in Spicy Soup
I’ve had better soup bases but the meat.. the meat is perfectly cooked, the tendon and the brisket is made perfectly. 
Beef Brisket with Noodle in Clear Soup – this soup was better than the above, but still not $10.95 good..
 
Champion Beef Shank with Noodle in Spicy Soup – my boyfriend disliked his and took two bites and said no more. He went home and had instant noodles…. !_!

If you love this place.. don’t read the next few sentences!!

I could not finish mine either. It just was not worth the extra calories for mediocre food. I would say that the food is very overpriced. When you add all the factors together.. it’s just not worth the $10.95 for a bowl of mediocrity. I’m not a fan. I have not gone back since. 

Where do you get you beef beef noodles from?

Leave a Reply

